WTO COUNCIL FOR TRADE IN GOODS – Members reach consensus on 2022 chairs for subsidiary bodies of Goods Council

WTO members reached consensus on May  23 , 2022, on a slate of names of the chairpersons for the 14 subsidiary bodies that report to the Council for Trade in Goods. The chair of the Goods Council, Mr Etienne Oudot De Dainville (France), thanked members for their constructive spirit and flexibilities in reaching consensus before the 12th Ministerial Conference, which will take place on June 12-15, 2022.

The slate of names of chairpersons are as follows:

  • Committee on Agriculture: Mr Marcel Vernooij (Netherlands)
  • Committee on Anti-Dumping Practices: Mr Juan Carlos Estrella (Ecuador)
  • Committee on Customs Valuation: Mr Frank Rittner (Germany)
  • Committee on Import Licensing: Mr Jia Jie Loh (Singapore)
  • Committee on Market Access: Mr Kenya Uehara (Japan)
  • Committee on Rules of Origin: Ms Laura Gauer (Switzerland)
  • Committee on Safeguards: Ms Maryam A. Aldoserie (Kingdom of Bahrain)
  • Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures: Mr Tang-Kai Wang (Chinese Taipei)
  • Committee on Subsidies and Countervailing Measures: Ms Kerrlene Wills (Guyana)
  • Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade: Mr Anwar Hussain Shaik (India)
  • Committee on Trade Facilitation: Amb. Adamu Mohammed Abdulhamid (Nigeria)
  • Committee on Trade-Related Investment Measures: Ms Débora Ponce de Günther (Guatemala)
  • Committee of Participants on the Expansion of Trade in Information Technology Products: Mr Hazrul Imran Azahar (Malaysia)
  • Working Party on State Trading Enterprises: Mr Agustín Navarro de Vicente-Gella (Spain)

Each committee will follow its own procedures to elect the respective chairperson. The Council for Trade in Goods directly appointed the Chairperson of the Working Party on State Trading Enterprises.

More information on the Goods Council and the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) is available here.