Kyllo to Receive Chapin Award for Service to AATCC

Karen E. Kyllo was chosen as the 2017 recipient of the Harold C. Chapin Award in recognition of her outstanding service to, and promotion of, AATCC throughout her career.

Kyllo joined AATCC in 1973 and is currently a lifetime member. In 1989, after 16 years in textile education, Kyllo joined the AATCC staff as laboratory manager, then technical director. In 1996 she joined ACTS Testing Labs Inc. (a subsidiary of Bureau Veritas) and later became their director of Global Textile Services. She worked as Intertek’s director of Textile Services from 2000 to 2007. Then, in 2007, she joined SGS US Testing as their deputy vice-president of Global Softlines until her retirement in 2017.

Kyllo served on the following committees for 20 years: Dimensional Change, Colorfastness to Washing, Appearance Retention, Home Laundering Technology, Spectroscopic Technologies, and Garment Wet Processing Technology. She served on the International Test Methods Committee for 15 years and was an ISO spokesperson. Beginning in 2013, she served on several administrative committees, including the Executive Committee on Research.

She was an early advocate and supporter of AATCC’s Concept 2 Consumer® Interest Group, which serves brands and retailers in the Association. Kyllo served the Concept 2 Consumer® Interest Group as At-Large Member, Vice Chair, and Chair. She was also a member of the AATCC Board of Directors.

Kyllo was appointed and approved by the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) to serve as a consumer advisor to the Cotton Board of Directors. She also serves on the Footwear Board of Directors for the American Apparel and Footwear Association. Kyllo was recognized with the Purdue University 2014 College of Health and Human Services Distinguished Alumni Award.

Kyllo’s growth in her career paralleled her growth in AATCC. From academia, to textile testing laboratories, to global corporations, she involved others in AATCC. She served tirelessly to advance the vision and mission of the Association as leader, teacher, advocate, and friend.

The Chapin Award

The Chapin Award was established in 1958 in honor of Harold C. Chapin, professor of chemistry at Lowell Textile School, who served as national secretary of AATCC for nearly 25 years. The Association will present the Chapin Scroll during the AATCC International Conference Awards Luncheon on Thursday, March 8, 2018, at the Hyatt Regency in Greenville, SC, USA.

For a complete list of our esteemed past award recipients, click here