Textile Exchange Webinar on launch of Responsible Alpaca Standard (May 12, 2021)

The Responsible Alpaca Standard (RAS) was launching on April 20, 2021! The standard and supporting documents have been published in both English and Spanish.

 Alpaca farming has a high animal welfare potential due to a husbandry system based on extensive grazing and free-ranging with animals adapted to their environment. The RAS was developed to ensure that this high welfare potential is realized and to provide a mechanism to verify that alpaca fibre comes from responsible sources.

The standard addresses farm-level animal welfare practices as well as land management and social welfare at the farm. Through production, chain of custody certification ensures that the fibre from certified farms is properly identified and tracked.

The RAS will join the Responsible Animal Fibre (RAF) framework along with the Responsible Wool and Mohair Standards. Visit the RAS website here

Read the RAS 1.0 here

Join us May 12 at 10 am EST | 9 am Peru | 4 pm CET for a 1-hour RAS Launch webinar. During this webinar, you will receive an overview of the standard structure and supporting documents. You will also learn about the RAS implementation and industry adoption plan for supply forecasting. This webinar will be held in English.

Online registration can be had here

www.textileexchange.org