AATCC Test Committee on Research Service Award presented

This year’s recipient of the AATCC Technical Committee on Research (TCR) Service Award is Carla MacClamrock. She was recognized on March 30, 2017 at the International Conference held in Wilmington, NC, USA, for her contributions toward the development of a new test method for formaldehyde determination

Carla-McClamrockMacClamrock led the effort to develop a test method that uses a water submersion technique to determine formaldehyde content in textiles. This test simulates real time, normal conditions

MacClamrock became a member of AATCC in 1987. The first test method committee she began with was AATCC Water Resistance, Absorbency & Wetting Agent Evaluation Test Method Committee in 2004. In 2010, she joined the Technical Committee on Research, along with the Fibre Analysis, and Flammability Technology test method committees. In 2012, she added the Finish Analysis Test Methods Committee to the list of committees in which she participates, and in 2017, became chair of this committee. She also joined Spectroscopic Technologies, Global Sustainability Technology, and Hand Evaluation Test Method Committees that same year. She also serves on the International Test Methods Committee (since 2013), and Preparation Test Methods Committee (since 2016).  

MacClamrock has been with Cotton Incorporated for 15 years, and currently serves as an Analytical Laboratory Manager. Previously, she worked at North Carolina State University (NCSU) in the College of Textiles from 1987 to 2001 as the Analytical Instrumentation Laboratory Manager, and was a recipient of the Distinguished Performance Award in 1995. While at NCSU, she worked with chromatography and spectroscopy instrumentation and taught lab classes to many of the future textile leaders currently in industry.

 The Technical Committee on Research Service Award was established in 2008 to recognize those members who have contributed greatly to AATCC in a technical capacity. Eligible nominees are senior members of the Association, with at least five years of continuous membership in AATCC, who have contributed outstanding technical service to the Association through activity in a research committee. Selection is by unanimous choice of the TCR Service Award Committee, composed of the current chair, vice chair, and secretary of the TCR, as well as the chair of the Executive Committee on Research (ECR). The Award consists of a plaque and an honorarium, presented at the International Conference during the Awards Luncheon.

General Motors names EMS again Global Supplier of the Year

On March 31, 2017 EMS-CHEMIE was named “Global Supplier of the Year” by General Motors (GM) for the seventh time in succession.

Bild_GM_AwardMagdalena Martullo, CEO and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors, received the award personally in Orlando (USA). A special award in a special year as GM – one of the leading automotive manufacturers in the world – celebrates the 25-year-anniversary of the award celebrations. EMS-CHEMIE received this award as long-standing development partner for very innovative solutions using high-performance polymers. The “Global Supplier of the Year” award is highly esteemed within the automotive industry. Based on this, EMS will drive forward the mutual development work already in progress worldwide and go for new projects.

AATCC J.W. Weaver Paper of the Year Award announced

Meredith L. McQuerry, Emiel DenHartog, and Roger Barker were recognized on March 30, 2017, at the AATCC International Conference in Wilmington, NC, USA, with the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award

They were recognized for their paper “Garment Ventilation Strategies for Improving Heat Loss in Structural Firefighter Clothing Ensembles,” published in the 2016 AATCC Journal of Research. The purpose of this research was to evaluate clothing ventilation designs for their ability to reduce heat stress incurred during firefighting activities.

About the Authors


Meredith L. McQuerry is an Assistant Professor in the Retail, Merchandising, and Product Development Department at Florida State University. She received her PhD from the College of Textiles, North Carolina State University (NCSU) in 2016. She was a PhD candidate and research assistant in the Textile Protection and Comfort Center (TPACC) at NCSU, and has research experience in fabric durability, wear life, and clothing comfort physiology as applied to protective clothing systems.

Emiel DenHartog is an Associate Professor in the Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry, andEmiel-DenHartog Science, and Co-Director of TPACC at NCSU. He received his PhD in Biomedical Physics at Erasmus University, Rotterdam, The Netherlands. He ranked as senior scientist at the Human Factors Research Institute of TNO (The Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research), and in the Chemical and Biological Protection Department at TNO Defense, Safety and Security, an independent, not-for-profit contract research organization in The Netherlands. Currently, DenHartog is an Associate Editor for the AATCC Journal of Research.


Roger L. Barker is the Burlington Distinguished Professor in the Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, and Director of TPACC at NCSU. He is an internationally recognized researcher in textile protection and comfort technologies and in advanced laboratory systems for measuring clothing comfort and protection performance. He holds BS and MS degrees in physics from the University of Tennessee, and a PhD in Textile and Polymer Science from Clemson University.

The Weaver Award

The AATCC Publications Committee presents the J. William Weaver Paper of the Year Award to the author or authors of the best peer reviewed paper published in the AATCC Journal of Research each year. In 1990, the award was named for J. William Weaver, who was chair of the AATCC editorial board at the time of his death. The award includes a framed certificate signed by the AATCC president and the Publications Committee chair. It is presented at AATCC’s International Conference during the Awards Luncheon. 

AATCC, the Association of Textile, Apparel & Materials Professionals, is the world’s leading not-for-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921. AATCC, headquartered in Research Triangle Park, N.C., USA, provides test method development, quality control materials, and professional networking for members in about 50 countries throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.