Free Webinar on Organic Textile Labelling in the U.S. (April 11, 2017)

Free Webinar on Organic Textile Labelling in the U.S. (April 11, 2017)

The Global Organic Textile Standard, Organic Trade Association, and Textile Exchange are coordinating a free webinar to provide the industry with guidance on labeling textiles that contain organic material for sale in the United States. Any company with product sold in the United States or that is planning to begin sales in the U.S. is invited to attend the webinar.

In this free webinar, learn more about U.S. regulations for organic textile labeling, different kinds of organic claims, and how the Organic Content Standard (OCS) and Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) can be used to help support labeling organic textiles.

Government regulation on the labeling of organic textiles falls under the Federal Trade Commission’s truth in advertising guidelines and the definition of organic as presented in the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Organic Program. However, there remains confusion about labeling language and how brands can provide verification of compliance.

The Organic Trade Association’s Vice President of Regulatory & Technical Affairs, Gwendolyn Wyard will explain the U.S. regulations for organic labeling with a focus on textiles. Lori Wyman, the GOTS North American Representative, will speak about GOTS and the claims allowed for GOTS certified organic products. Textile Exchange’s Ashley Gill, Integrity Specialist, will cover the OCS and raw material content claims.

The webinar will take place two times on Tuesday, April 11, to allow attendees from Europe, Asia, and North America to take part:

  • 10 a.m. Eastern, 3 p.m. GMT,  p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China
  • 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern
  •  

Register for the Europe webinar, offered at 3 p.m. GMT, 4 p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China here https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/162148659619821314  

Register for the North American webinar, offered at 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern here https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6765695649275058690  

http://textileexchange.org


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.