AATCC bestows the Olney Medal 2015

Fred-CookFred L. Cook, known for his wide-ranging contributions to the fields of polymer/textile chemistry applied to sustainable developments in textile/carpet wet processes and novel fibre/materials innovations, is the 2015 recipient of the Olney Medal. The Olney Medal, the highest award presented by AATCC, is for outstanding achievement in textile or polymer chemistry or other fields of chemistry of major importance to textile science

Cook’s work over the past 40 years has spanned a broad range of interests, pivoting around sustainable textile/carpet wet process developments and novel fibre/materials innovations. His pioneering work on energy-conservation and sustainable dyeing technologies is of major interest and practicality for the textile/carpet industries. Cook’s work has exemplified the importance of visionary thinking in turning ideas tested in the laboratory into practical products and processes.

Cook has been an actively participating member of AATCC since 1968. He has served the Association in many roles, helping to achieve significant milestones, including serving as AATCC President (2009-2010), serving on the AATCC Board of Directors, and chairing and serving on numerous research and administrative committees, including the Executive Committee on Research (ECR).

Cook chaired the 2011–2014 AATCC Five-Year Strategic Planning Committee, which charted the course for AATCC. Cook has also supported AATCC’s publications, serving as a reviewer for Textile Chemist and Colorist and AATCC Review. He currently serves on the Editorial Board of the new AATCC Journal of Research and as has contributed papers to these publications. He has also served on the Editorial Boards of other industry-based and scientific publications, including Textile World, Textile Progress, and the Journal of Engineered Fibers and Fabrics (JEFF). He has also been active as a consultant and/or expert witness to a variety of textile, polymer, utility companies, and law firms.

Presentation of the medal each year is a highlight of AATCC’s InternationalOlney medal Conference. This year, the conference will be held at the Williamsburg Lodge in Williamsburg, VA, USA, from April 19-21, 2016. The Association will present the Olney Medal at the Awards Luncheon on April 21, 2016.

The Olney Medal

Established in 1944 in honour of Louis Atwell Olney, the founder and first president of AATCC, the Olney Medal recognizes outstanding achievement in textile or polymer chemistry or other fields of chemistry of major importance to textile science. The award consists of a gold medal, a scroll, and an honorarium.

Window Film Director recognised with FIS President’s Award

Andy Parkin, a Director at Chesham based The Window Film Company, has just picked up the Finishes & Interiors Sector (FIS) trade association’s “Outstanding Employee of the year” award. The award was presented on February 23, 2016 at the FIS President’s Awards, a gala event held at Plaisterer’s Hall in London, UK

The award was judged by an independent panel, with the panel taking into account evidence of outstanding contribution to the organisation, exceptionalFIS  President Award ceremony reliability, quality of work and initiative, leadership and exemplary performance above and beyond the scope of responsibilities.

In speaking of the achievement Managing Director Micky Calcott commented: “Andy has played a vital part in the continued growth and success of The Window Film Company and I’m delighted his hard work and commitment have been recognised. His continued commitment and support have been vital to both myself and his colleagues, and we are all hugely proud of his achievement.

“He has been with the company for fifteen years and has recently taken up the role of Director. He is a model employee who has worked hard to develop his own skills and knowledge whilst also remaining focussed on the success and development of his colleagues. He’s well liked, invaluable and respected throughout the organisation and he is a very worthy winner of this award.”

Parkin was presented with the award by FIS President Steve Coley and keynote speaker Dominic Frisby (Financial columnist and comedian) at the event on Tuesday and was surprised but understandably pleased with the result. He said; “I’m grateful to have been nominated and it was privileged to make the shortlist – to win was a genuine shock. It was the perfect end to a memorable day.  I enjoy my work and am proud of what I’ve achieved with The Window Film Company. For the work we do to be recognised by the industry is rewarding for both me and the company and I am humbled that the judges thought that what I do is worthy of recognition.

“It’s a great company to work for and a great industry to be a part of. I’m looking forward to carrying on my work, but not until I’ve found an appropriate place on the mantelpiece!”

Parkin began his career with the Company in 2001, joining as just the third member of staff. Some fifteen years later, he holds the position of Director and The Window Film Company has grown to be a recognised industry leader with a multi-million pound turnover and 29 full time staff.

The Window Film Company, founded in 1998 and is an industry leader in the supply and installation of window film and printed graphics. The Company’s headquarters are in Chesham, Buckinghamshire with an additional showroom in Clerkenwell, London.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.