Awards (updated March 19, 2014)


AATCC’s highest award bestowed

The winner of AATCC’s highest award, the Olney Medal for outstanding lifetime achievement in a field of major importance to textile science has been bestowed

Aspland-2-10_4x6The lifetime achievement AATTC (the association of Textile, Apparel and Materials Professionals, the world’s leading non-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921) Award, the Olney Medal 2013 for outstanding achievement has been bestowed to John Richard “Dick” Aspland in hte field of textile chemistry.

Aspland’s research included a wide range of textile chemistry interests, inclujding fluoresecence of dyeing and laundred fabrics (bi-spectral-spectrometry) ; fastness properties of dyeing on novel polymers; implementation of novel shade sorting software for colour users from colour instrument manufacturers to apparel cutters; the influence of fibre, yarn and fabric parameters on the physical properties of coated fabrics; synthesis of isotopic tracers for studying diffusion in nylon dyeing; the effect of colour distribution on the colour appearance of yarns, fibres, and fabrics (mirco-spectrometry); and the interactions between pigment particles and polymers.

Aspland has been active in textile chemistry for more than 50 years as scientist, researcher, and educator in academia and industry. His book “Textile Dyeing and Colouration” öpublished by AATCC in 1997, has been used as a premier text on dyeing. Aspland and his former student, Ann Laidlaw, together published the AATCC “Colour Guidebook” in 2011. He has published more than 145 articles in peer-reviewed journals and in conference proceedings, three peer-reviewed book chapters, and hold two patents.

He is an AATCC member since 1971, and has received the AATCC Harold C. Chapin Award for services to AATCC in 1999. In 2005, he was bestowed with the AATCC William J. Weaver Paer of the Year Award for his contributions to textile science literature. He also received th Award for Faculty Excellence in 2000 and 2002 from the Clemson University Board of Trustees: the J.J. Lyons Distinguished Teacher Award in 1995-96; the College of Commerce and Industry teacher of the year Award 1993-94. He was elected Fellow of the Textile Institute in 1988 and Fellow of the Society of Dyers and Colourists (SDC) in 1968. He has been a senior member, Fellow, and Examiner with SDC since 1956, and a fellow of the Textile Institute since 1987. He is also a member of the Inter-Society Colour Council and the Fibre Society. Aspland has travelled extensively, nationally as well as internationally, as invited speaker or as consultant/trainer on programmes of dyes, dyeing, finishing, and colour and textile chemistry. His outreach extends from local community to the greater textile industry.

The award will be presented at the AATCC International Conference (April 1 -3, 2014) at the Crowne Plaza Resort in Asheville, North Carolina (USA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.