The winners of the AATCC 2013 Materials Research Poster Competition

AATCC, the Association of Textile, Apparel & Materials Professionals announced the winners of the 2013 Materials Poster Competition. It has been developed by AATCC’s Materials Interest Group with the aim to promote innovative product development from material structures design perspective

The winning entries receive cash awards of USD 1000 for First Place and USD 500 for Second Place in each category and complimentary student registrations for the 2014 AATCC International Conference. Participating were both graduate and undergraduate students. The entries were evaluated on concept originality, research quality, clarity, and results.

Ihsan UluturkJing LiangNicholas Rusin 

The 2013 winners in the Industrial/Technical/Sports Materials Category: First place “Effect of Commercial Screen Printing Ink on the Thermal Performance of Running Shirts” by Seth Moczydlowski of Philadelphia University. Second rank was bestowed to “Developing Ion Exchange Membrane from Waste Expanded Polystyrene for Heavy Metal Removal from Industrial Wastewater” by Ihsan Uluturk of University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Ihsan Uluturk

In the category Medical/Biomedical/Protective Materials and Devices Category, the first place was won by Jing Liang of North Carolina State University and the motto “A Double Layer Nerve Conduit for Peripheral Nerve Regeneration”, and the second place went to Kayla Stevens and Nicholas Rusin of Philadelphia University for their “Study of changes in Mechanical Properties of Hernia Mesh Material after Exposure to Concentrated Acids”. More to be found by clicking on the link below.

The jury was led by Robina Hogan of the United Soybean Board/Hogan Consulting; and the members were Kanti Jasani, Performance & Technical Textile Consulting, and Dr. Kyle Gipson, professor at James Madison University College of Integrated Science (and Engineering).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.