Green Fashion Show in India and bestowing of Best Green Initiative Awards

Green Fashion Show in India and bestowing of Best Green Initiative Awards

The CGF Consortium of Green Fashion, an ecological initiative by DyStar India Pvt Lt and Maharashi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha’s School of Fashion Technology has organised a Green Fashion conference on April 5, 2013, at Textile committee Auditorium in Mumbai (India) and a Green Fashion Design  Show on April 6 at the Lalit in Mumbai, where also the Best Green Initiative Awards were bestowed

According to DyStar’s press release the CGF initiative (President Vishwas Deveal, Chairman, MKSSS; Chairman Rajesh Balakrishnan) was well received by top institutes as well as by the top fashion industries, since it has the aim to create a platform for the exchange of ideas, information & sustainable practices making Green Fashion as the only choice of presence and future.

The collections were judged by Hemant Trevedi, Rahul Mishra, Meher Castelino and Phlippe Werhahn, a designer who is an expert in upsycling. The show was choreographed by Achala Sachdev. The conference under the motto sustainability, compliance, upcycling, water conservation, waste management presented reputed speakers covering the subjects such as Steven Jesseph, Manish Mandhana and Rahul Mehta. Other speakers were Rahul Mishra, Ulhas Nimkar, Gerarde De Nazelle, Rahul Bhajekar, Dr. Naresh Tyagi, Dr. Ela Dedhia and Anita Ahuja.

In order to promote Green Fashion and to acknowledge Green Initiatives of Industries, NGO’s and Designers, the applicants were invited from various national and international organisations.

The Award winners are Alok Industry, Polygenta, Welspun Syntex & Mehershaw in the category Industry; in the category NGO the award went to GOTS and Conserve. The CGF Designer Award was bestowed to Rahul Mishra and Philippe Werhahn. The national level student competition award by Mandhana Industry was accorded to runner up Rogue and the winner, Entangled Yatra, both from the School of Fashion Technology, Pune (IND). The winner of teh Best paper presentation was attributed to Jignassa Shah and Retro Rewind Group of B.D. Somani Institute, Mombai and the best poster presentation to Jinal Sanghani, SVT College, Mumbai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.