New AATCC Treasurer elected

The new elected Treasurer of AATCC American Association of Textile Chemist and Colourists is Warren S. Perkins, the former president of AATCC and Olney Medal Winner. He is a respected textile industry chemist and professor.

Warren_PerkinsPerkins joined AATCC in 1966 as a student at Clemson University and he earned many awards and accolades over the years from his industry peers, among the AATCC Olney Medal in 1999 and in 1998 he received AATCC’s Chapin Award. He is a native of Elloree, South Carolina. He received his BS in 1967 and MS in 1969 in textile chemistry from Clemson University. In 1968 he was hired as a faculty member in the department of textile engineering at Auburn, and during that time participated in industry internships with WestPoint Pepperell, United Merchants and Manufacturers, and Clinton Mills. In 1995, he joined the University of Georgia and earned Emeritus status after leaving at Auburn.

Perkins has published over 100 research and technical papers, presented over 90 papers at meetings of technical and scientific societies, and authored or co-authored several books. He is also a member of the Chattahoochee Valley Chapter of PhiPsi Professional Fraternity. Together with his wife Kathryn Judy Perkins of Bowman, South Carolina he is residing in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.


ISO has a new Vice President for Finance

ISO the International Organisation for Standardisation has appointed Olivier Peyrat as new Vice President of Finance for 2013-14. He fills the new position created in 2012 for the first time and under the new statutes to improve the governance of the organisation

vcard_olivier-peyratOlivier Peyrat is head of AFNOR, the ISO national member for France and occupying the post of Director General of the AFNOR Group since 2003. He represented the national organisation on the ISO Council and its standing committees on finance or strategy since then. He chaired also the ISO Committee on conformity assessment (ISO7CASCO) FROM 2007 – 2011. During 1995-96, he acted as advisor to the French Minister of Industry. In 1997 he was appointed to Chair the Management Board of AFAQ ASCERT International. He also chaired a number of standards committees and working groups at national, European and international levels. He has a background in engineering and business administration an began his professional career in 1984 in the Regional Administration of Industry and Research of Ile de France and was holding several management positions related to quality and certification in public administration. In 1989 he joined the French Quality Assurance Association (AFAQ).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.