Dutch DSM bestowed with multiple Sustainable Supply Chain Awards

Dutch Royal DSM, the global Life and Materials Sciences Company, has been bestowed with multiple Sustainable Supply Chain Awards

The latest award bestowed by the VBDO, the Dutch Association of Investors for Sustainable Development, recognises the responsible way DSM is managing its supply chain and the other awards honoured the sustainability efforts, its transparency and leadership and were bestowed by DE Kristal 2012, FD Henri Sijthoff and Prix-de-Mazars.

The Sustainable Supply Chain Award has been presented to DSM on November 2012 in Amstelveen, after DSM has been ranked in first place in the Responsible Supply Chain Benchmark 2012 survey carried out by VBDO. In the jury’s opinion DSM was chosen because of its robust and transparent supplier sustainability program, its focus on sustainability aspects such as environmental issues throughout the value chain, its ongoing dialogue with stakeholders and the way DSM recognises sustainability as one of its business drivers.

In addition DSM received also the Corporate Steward Award on December 6, 2012 in Washington D.C. (USA) awarded by the US Chamber of Commerce Business Civic Leadership Centre (BCLC) at the occasion of its 13th annual awards gala. The finalists included IBM, Capital One and United Health Group and the winners in other award categories included Google, Qualcomm and Wellpoint.

Feike Sijbesma, CEO and Chairman of the DSM Managing Board has been pleased that the core of our business with People, Planet and Profit of equal importance has been recognizes.

In this framework we would like to mention also, that Feike Sijbesma will become an honorary doctorate from the University of Maastricht (NL) in recognition for the way he embodies DSM’s core value, namely sustainability. The University is celebrating its 37th Dies Natalis on January 14, 2013 and will confer honorary doctorates to five persons of high distinction. The four other nominees are Paul Crutzen, Nobel prize winner for chemistry in 1995 for his research on ozone depletion; Fred Gage, a prominent neuroscientist known for his work on neutral tissue transplants; Mohammad Hasehm Pesaran, one of the world’s foremost experts on econometrics and Trevor Pinch known for his research on musical technologies. The celebration day’s theme will be “Inviting Excellence”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.