Nordstrom Canada with new President

Nordstrom Canada has a new President, it elected veteran leader Karen McKibbin for that post, she has 27 year tenure with Nordstrom in a wide variety of leadership roles from merchandising to regional management, most recently serving as Vice President and Regional Manager of Northern California and Hawaii. She is living in Seattle for next year and move to Toronto with her family in anticipation of the first Nordstrom store opening in Calgary in two years.

At the same time Nordstrom announced on September 13, 2012 its entry into the Canadian market with plans to begin serving customers with its first full-line stores in fall 2014. The company plans to open stores in Cadillac Fairview premier shopping centres located in Calgary, Ottawa, Toronto and Vancouver.


American DSW appoints new board member

DSW a leading American footwear and accessories retailer announces that James O’Donnell was appointed newly to its Board of Directors. From 2002 – 2011 he has been CEO of American Eagle Outfitters, Inc. A clothing and accessories retailer based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (USA). He also served as the company’s Chief Operating Officer and was a member of the Boeard of Directors from November 200 to March 2011. Prior to that engagement, he held senior executive positions at public and private companies, including The Gap, Inc., where he was a member of the Board of Directors from 1987 to 1992. He is currently a strategic advisor for American Eagle Outfitters and serves on the Board of Trustees for Villanova University.


The US Chairman’s Commendation Awards bestowed

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) announced on September 13, 2012 the recipients of the 2nd annual Chairman’s Commendation Awards. These are a creation by CPSC Chairman Inez Tenenbaum in 2011 to identify and honour people, organisations, businesses, state and local governments and other groups who have worked to reduce deaths, prevent injuries and improve consumer product safety

The recipients of the Chairman’s Commendation Awards 2012 are: Judith Bannon, Cribs for Kids®, she is its Executive Director and the organisation is a national infant safe sleep initiative that started in 1998 and through its national network of partners it has provided more than 130000 free, safe cribs to high-risk, low-income families who cannot afford one, and educates caregivers about the dangers of unsafe sleep environments.

Further Dr. Ik-Whan Kwon, St. Louis University’s Centre for Supply Management Studies is the second nominee for the first to offer university-level product safety courses for product safety professionals within the industry. He has led the programme since its start and has earned the title o f product safety “patron” at the school. This year, the U.S. News and World Report recognised the Centre for the quality of its programs in the supply chain field.

Thirdly was nominated Stephen Teret, JD, MPH, the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public health, a pioneer in the field of public health law.

Last, but not least Rachel Weintraub, Consumer Federation of America and Director of Product Safety and Senior Counsel for the Consumer Federation of America became also a recipient of the award for leading a coalition of consumer, public health and public interest groups that worked with Congress on Consumer Product Safety Reform resulting in a new la, the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.