Winners Announcement 2019 AATCC Concept 2 Consumer® Merchandising Competition

AATCC is happy to announce the winners of the 2019 AATCC C2C® Student Merchandising Competition!

AATCC received 32 entries, with 61 students participating from nine colleges and universities. Students were challenged to showcase their skills in business, marketing, and merchandising by conducting a business model, determining a marketing strategy, and creating merchandising tools and products for an integrated new apparel line both fashionable and functional for use in the rain, focused and inspired by a specific outdoor activity.


1st Place STÖRMYby Lilly Kuropat, Chloe Kehn, Meaghan Evans, and Vyvian Le, Oregon State University

Award: USD 1000 from AATCC, and USD 500 and a jacket from W.L. Gore and Associates Inc

2nd Place Zaa Zaa by Megan Daniels, Central Michigan University 

Award: USD 750 from AATCC, and USD 350 from W.L. Gore and Associates Inc

Honorable MentionNorth Star Apparel by Austin Keske, Xiomara Bustamante, and Olivia Harband, Oregon State University

Award: USD 250 from AATCC, and USD150 from W.L. Gore and Associates Inc

AATCC would like to extend appreciation to the following developers, judges, and sponsor. Without their expertise and assistance, the competition would not have been possible.


Mary Brannon, Apparel Technology Coordinator at Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising

Sandy Johnson, Senior Account Manager at Color Solutions International/DyStar

Nora Khanna, Product Development Manager at Pantone

Kerry King, Vice President, R&D at Spoonflower Inc

Muditha Senanayake, Associate Professor at California State Polytechnic University Pomona

Mark Sunderland, Director Academic Operations/Textile Engineer + Strategist, Philadelphia University

Alyssa McNamara, Research Associate at Spoonflower Inc


Alan Biggerstaff, Senior Manager Apparel QA/Color/Textile at Walmart

Lauren Dalton, Sr. Manager, Quality Assurance at QVC

Michele Leckington, Fabrics at WL Gore & Associates, Inc

Craig Lindemann, Fabrics—New Product Development at WL Gore & Associates Inc

Christina Rapa, Sitka Gear / Textile Specialist at WL Gore & Associates Inc

Shannon Redell, Sr. Materials Research Developer at Columbia Sportswear

Tejada Odalis, Director of Raw Material Quality & Technical at Wacoal America Inc

Scott Wagner, Fabric Manager, PD&S at Levi Strauss & Co.

AATCC is the world’s leading not-for-profit association serving textile professionals since 1921. AATCC, headquartered in Research Triangle Park, NC, USA, provides test method development, quality control materials, and professional networking for members in about 50 countries throughout the world.