Sixteen EU-supported films compete at the 2022 European Film Awards

Sixteen EU-supported films will be nominated for awards at the 35th edition of the European Film Awards that will take place on  December 10, 2022  in Reykjavík, Iceland. Out of these sixteen EU-supported works holding a total of 30 nominations, four of them will be competing for the Best European Film award: Alcarràs, by Carla Simón; Close, by Lukas Dhont; Corsage, by Marie Kreutzer; and Triangle of Sadness, by Ruben Östlund.

The EU has supported their development, production and distribution through the Creative Europe MEDIA programme. The winners will be announced during the Award Ceremony.

During this ceremony, President Ursula von der Leyen will accept on behalf of the Commission, by video message, the newly introduced European Sustainability Award, which will reward the European Green Deal launched in December 2019 to make Europe the first climate neutral and nature-positive continent in the world.